Thunderbird Model Railroad Club Annual Dinner

October 4, 2014

The Annual Dinner was celebrated for the second consecutive year at the  Macayo's Mexican Kitchen on Central in Phoenix, Arizona. The event provides the club members a perfect venue to thank their spouses for letting us play with trains and for all the time we spend at the club. This is especially true at the beginning of October since right around the corner is the Arizona State Fair which means club members will be operating trains every hour that the fair is open. Yes Wednesday thru Sunday from as early as 10am until as late as 11pm we are forced to play with trains. At this years dinner Ray Hamm (Life Member #2) who was an original Charter Member of the Thunderbird Model Railroad Club joining the club in 1949. He is the last survivor of the founding members 'Class of 49'; and came to the celebration with wife Billie and daughter Nancy Fournier.  Please enjoy the pictures as we keep this evening in our hearts and minds.

Select the image to see full size slideshow








A cornerstone of the Thunderbird Model Railroad Club is to preserve the history of model railroading and to increase and build friendships through social activities.  This gallery preserves the smiles and laughter that was shared during our evening together.








To change things up this year the club photographer brought in a background and better lighting to create a little elegance.  To remember the evening the club made 8x10 photos for everyone in attendance, presenting these to the members just before the holidays.  Check out these striking couples and the distinguished single gentlemen that are members of the club








The Annual Dinner marks the changing of the guard, a presentation of the Year in Review, Awards and Door Prizes for our wives. In addition this year the club began presenting the "Spike" Awards for years of service and membership in the club. Iron Spike for 10 years of service were awarded to Alan Vincent, Brian Rhoads, Charles Stewart and Larry Platt. Copper Spikes - 20 years were presented to David Greenberg, Phil Hanna, Rich Gregory and Roger von Seeburg. Bronze - 30 year awards presented to Mike Sanders, Don Stewart, Tom Draper, Ken Rhoads, and Lee Baird. and celebrating 40 years - a Silver Spike is Lowell Spooner.

As always we send a special Thank You to the wives of the Thunderbird Model Railroad Club
that tolerate our shenanigans throughout the year.